Child Custody, Divorce, Family, Shared Custody, SoundPosts

Most Peculiar and Amazing

I witnessed the most peculiar and amazing event.

It was near noon on a clear summer day in Florida void of the early afternoon showers which sometimes occur sporadically throughout the state. As I sometimes do on days such as this, I made my way to a local park. This is one of those areas I enjoy spending time in and one in which I think our elected officials have gotten right. Living in a populated area with little property it’s nice to have the option of spending time in a naturalistic setting, maintained of course, which I like. The grooming of the trees and shrubs offers a kind of appeal similar to that of a well groomed person. Sure, there are those areas which offer us a view of our natural habitat, where the foliage is overgrown, leaving one void of that sense of order which accompanies a well manicured space. But I enjoy nature most when individuals have tended to it.

So here I was, making my way to a park that was somewhat new to me. Not the location nor the knowledge of the park, that wasn’t new at all. It was the park itself, for I had driven by this location and even read the sign several times a week, but only once had I actually taken the time to drive into the park area and on that occasion I never did stop to enjoy it. Seems as I recall, that one time I went in the weather was not ideal but I did make a mental note, I remember thinking this is one I must visit again when the weather is right.

As I made my way in the car to the make shift parking space, which seems was placed there as an afterthought or in an attempt at maintaining a somewhat naturalistic feel to the whole thing as the space was nothing more than a grassy area at the end of the road which led into the park. I noticed I was parking underneath scrub-oaks, and while I can appreciate their use of keeping my car cool in the summer, it would make for an interesting time those few weeks in spring during caterpillar season.

Second mental note, do not come here during caterpillar season.

O yea, caterpillars season. When every tree everywhere seems to house these little creatures and it’s not as if these tiny little insects relegate their selves to the branches alone or the leaves which they eat. No, they for some reason find it necessary to dangle themselves from a thin strand of silk, hanging from the branches at a height equal to that of your average person.  And not just one or two but hundreds of them all dangling in unison.

Not as if these many legged little creatures will do you harm but they are sticky little things and leave a sort of slime on your car if they find there way to it, and they do. Not that alone, but they also seem to find their way onto you and there such tiny buggers you don’t even realize their there until your eating your baloney sandwich with lettuce and mayonnaise. It’s then they decide to make their presence known. I suppose it’s the lettuce their after and as is often the case, when they find their self on my sandwich it becomes theirs and I’m out a lunch. So best to just skip those tree laden spaces those few weeks in the spring.

Today though was a clear, beautiful summer afternoon. Pulling into park I glanced to my left and noticed a large oak tree, full of foliage, giving ample shade to the bench nestled next to it’s massive trunk. I thought, yea, this is perfectly done, after strolling though the sun laden areas of this park one can find refuge on that bench..

Taking the keys out of the ignition I gathered my necessities; camera, phone, small cooler with water and some eats like a granola bar and apple. Walking away from the car and the cover of shade I could feel the heat of the sun radiate off my body. That little bench under the oak was looking better already. Walking towards it put the sun on my left leaving me a perfectly clear view of the tree and the landscape that surrounded the area. As I approached I heard a persistent chirping, not singing like were accustom to in the early morning hours but a definite chirping as if the bird, which knowing the sound of birds this was one, was asking for something. Glancing up to my right I did not see anything, my eyes slowly peered through the branches as I methodically moved my head up and down the many branches as I turned my body to the left.

There it was, I saw it, a little blue bird peering over the side of a nest almost as if he or for that matter a she was looking for something or at something. But what, what was causing this little bird to stir up so much commotion. As I pondered this site I made my way to the bench to have a gander from a different perspective. Sitting down I was able to see the bottom of the nest off to my right and catch short glimpses of the birds little head when the bird would peep over as it chirped away. All of this made me curious as to what in this world was the little guy doing. As I thought about this I straightened myself and as I did it was then that I saw another bird, larger then the one in the nest, poking around in the small pile of brush near the base of another tree. I watched for a moment as it appeared the little bird in the tree was gazing upon this other bird on the ground.

Then I saw it, the larger bird found a worm, and with the worm secure in it’s mouth it took to flight. There it was, heading straight for me, ascended swiftly upward, almost taking on a ninety degree angle pushing what must have been two or three g’s.  As it flew the persistent chirping grew even louder as if a fan attending a sporting event was witnessing the final lap of a track meet and their runner was in the lead and poised to win. Listing to the roaring chips I watched as the larger bird flew directly into the nest.

What a sight, I had to get a better view. Standing to me feet I took a few quick steps forward then spun around to get a view of the nest. As I did I witnessed the larger bird handing over the worm to the smaller one. Ah, it must be that little guys parent. How cool is that!

But that is not what I found peculiar.

After what appeared to be the parent bird handing off lunch to his child, it turned and flew off, heading down to a small cluster of pine trees off to my left. Check this out I thought, this bird is looking for some more grub, maybe there is another little guy in the nest I was unable to detect.

Wanting to get a closer look at the meal preparation processes, I stealthily moved forward, taking care to not make much noise while keeping the sun to my back as best I could so my sight would not be impaired. Doing so, I was able to position myself just behind and to the left of the small cluster of pines. This gave me an optimal view of the process so long as blue, that is the parent bird, stayed there and would not decide to look elsewhere. Just as that thought crossed my mind it happened, what appeared to be another worm was found. Yea for their little family I thought and let me get a better look as the bird was facing away from me. So I tipped toed to my left positioning myself in front of the bird with the birds nest to my back.

Then it occurred; the very peculiar event.

Having secured the worm in it’s mouth much like the first one it found, the bird took to flight but this time it did not fly towards me, which would have been the direction of Blue’s family. Rather, the bird flew away from me and to my left and appeared to be heading to another tree just in front of us. Hmmm, maybe Blue found this one for itself I thought, and with this thought in mind, I took after the bird to see where in fact it was heading.

In astonishment I witnessed the bird land on what appeared to be another nest. Moving quickly I approached, careful not to startle the little guy. Gazing upward I was able to confirm that the bird had indeed landed on another nest. What is this I thought, the birds gathering worms for a family owned restaurant, and before I could think further it happened, that very peculiar event. Another little blue bird sat up to receive the worm the larger bird just found. Huh, what, what’s going on I thought. Never have I seen nor heard of a bird having multiple nests, with young in each, and feeding them all. How peculiar! How unnatural! So much so that without thinking I blurted out loud, what in the world are you doing blue bird?

It was then that I was amazed.

The larger bird which had just finished feeding this other little bird in a completely different nest then the first one I encountered turned to me and said,

“What? Child support kid, ever heard of it.”

Unnatural, yes indeed. Never have I witnessed a bird feeding a family that was not in it’s own nest. Natural law dictates….

Custody Equals Care

If the birds are in your nest, they are your responsibility. To take worms away from one nest to give to another is unnatural.

Restore Justice and Liberty for All.

Custody Equals Care

About SoundEndurance

I am a follower of The Way, holding to the doctrine of Jesus Christ the first born from among the dead, who lives and reigns forever more. Scripture is the basis of my beliefs which testify of the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and confirmed in me by His Holy Spirit. The gift of eternal life is inclusive. Jesus shed his blood for all, He has purchased for each of us a resurrection from the dead unto judgment. His shed blood is our justice which satisfies our holy Creator blotting out our sins, making it possible for us to approach a holy, righteous God. In our approach to Him, we repent of our sin, we yield ourselves to His will, wanting to take on His very divine nature, desiring to be made new in His image and likeness thereby doing away with sin. It is through this faith in Him that we become children of God having received His Holy Spirit which does his commandments thereby entering eternal life and escaping the damnation of hell, the lake of fire to come. May we be blessed in the knowledge of Him. Kenneth S. Muratore Jr

Discussion

One thought on “Most Peculiar and Amazing

  1. You my pal are a genius

    Posted by hotshot bald cop | August 30, 2011, 3:51 AM

Leave a Reply

